Our Story

Mission Statement

Vancouver TheatreSports® League is a unique professional theatre organization dedicated to the growth and exploration of exceptional improv-based work for the purpose of challenging and inspiring the community.


Who We Are & What We Do


Founded in 1980 Vancouver TheatreSports™ League is Vancouver’s #1 improv comedy company and a well-respected international leader in the art form – recognized for producing some of the most daring and innovative improv comedy anywhere with a style that is a highly theatrical fusion of the dramatic elements of comedy and tragedy coupled with the enthusiasm and edge-of-your-seat excitement of professional sport. Boasting six International Improv Comedy Awards and starring in several television specials, Vancouver TheatreSports™ League first opened its doors at the Back Alley Theatre, where it consistently drew cult-like, capacity crowds. VTSL continues to wow audiences at its own theatre,The Improv Centre on Granville Island, entertaining more than 60,000 people per year through 11 shows a week, 52 weeks a year .Over the years, the company has grown and now operates its own professional theatre school, The Improv Comedy Institute (ICI) – offering entry-level through professional-level improv classes. It also has a expanded its product categories by adding Improv for Business and Improv to Go. Improv for Business, VTSL’s corporate training division, offers training sessions designed to enhance teamwork, communication, creativity and innovation in the workplace. Improv to Go, VTSL’s events division, presents more than 150 corporate events yearly – producing custom-tailored shows for corporations, associations and not-for-profit organizations.

PODCAST – Jay Ono on what is improv and how it can change your life

VTSL’s improv tournament at Expo ’86 provided the impetus for the present worldwide interest in TheatreSports™. The improv techniques pioneered by Vancouver TheatreSports™ League are now used for everything from corporate training to TV parodies. The names of VTSL players and alumni are a veritable ‘Who’s Who’ of the North American entertainment and improv scenes. Award-winning performers, TV celebrities, and international personalities have filled out the ranks of VTSL’s fast-thinking players including: Ryan Stiles and Colin Mochrie (Whose Line Is It Anyway), Ellie Harvie (The New Addams Family), Dean Haglund (The X-Files, The Lone Gunmen), and Nancy Robertson (Hiccups, Corner Gas).

From 2000-2015, VTSL produced the annual Jessie Awards – the ‘Oscars’ for Vancouver’s theatre community.


One of the only places in Vancouver that supports a year round schedule of improv shows and classes. If you are a fan of improv comedy this is the spot.

Vanessa Tam, Writer

Board of Directors

Doug McCann – President

Roland Monteiro – Vice-President

Claire Brown – Treasurer

Sarah Hentschel – Secretary

Gary Arca – Director at Large

Jeffrey Goldberg – Director at Large

Robert Phillips – Director at Large

Council Of Govenors

Colin Mochrie     Harley Harris     Marlie Oden


There are many well known performers that have passed through the ranks of Vancouver TheatreSports® League over the years.

Aberle, Stephen
Anderson, Peter
Baker, Bob
Barrett, Eileen
Bentz, Tammy
Berner, Toby
Blake, Seamus
Boothby, Ian
Bracht, Mary
Brewer-White, Elaine
Bryden, Jason
Burton, Beth
Agosti, Kristina
Applegath, Brent
Ballard, Florence E.
Beley, Lisa Ann
Berlin, Judith
Black, Mike
Bloomfield, Jessie
Borycki, Martin
Brazeau, Jay
Brummer, Russ
Burke, Amanda
Bygrave, Matt
Cameron, Dave
Campbell, Scott
Chalk, Gary
Cochrane, Andrew
Cook, Alistair
Corrin, Penelope
Danylo, Roman
Davies, JT
Denholm, Julia
Diamond, David
Dungey, Lori
Campbell, Reid
Ceresney, Benita
Chula, Babz
Cole, Shelley
Cole, Ted
Corbeil, Luc
Crawford, Rod
Daum, Jill
Davis, Helen
Derbyshire, Jan
imopoulos, Stephen
Elliot, Beverley
Fell, Eric
Filer, Rory
Flessati, Gene
Forsyth, Ian
Frances, Diana
Funk, Doug
Gebhard, Fran
Gibson, Bonnie
Godsy, Grant
Graydon, Shari
Haglund, Dean

Harvie, Ellie
Hilton, Rick
Hondro, Marcus
Elwood, Rich
Fiore, Judith
Fly, Mike
Fox, Kelli
Fredericks, Roger
Fyffe, Laurie
Gemmer, Monica
Grahn, Neil
Gurrie, Ray
Hanley, Fil
Heath, Sharon
Holmes, Tracy
Hughes, Christopher
Janeshewski, Laura
Joffre, Dan
Jones, David C.
Keith, John
Kenny, Andrew
L’Hirondelle, Tyronne
Lambier, Patrick
Lecuyer, Yvan
Ley, David
Lippa, Christine
Jensen, Bing
Johnson, Pam
Jones, Gary
Kelamis, Peter
Kyle, Margaret
Labossiere, Denise
Lazarus, John
Lepawsky, Noah
Linds, Brian
Lippa, Christine
Ludwig, Patsy
MacDonald, Ken
Mackenzie, Donnard
Mandryk, Corey
Marr, David
Matysio, Amy
McCreadie, Drew
McGowan, Dave
McKenna, Patrick
McLeod, David
Moon, Louise
Morris, Dave
Mulligan, Brian
Newell, Douglas
Osborne, Steve
Paquin, Suzanne
Pollard, Barbara
MacDonald, Shawn
Malpass, Marjorie
Margalit, Ita
Marriott, Alan

McAteer, Gerry
McDonald, Ian Ross
McKay, Tamara
McLarty, Jim
Mochrie, Colin
Moon, Lyle
Mossley, Robin
Nadler, Peter
O’Neil, Colleen
Owen, Scott
Panych, Morris
Paquin, Suzanne
Petersen, David
Porter, Michelle
Rendall, Henry
Rice, Nicholas
Robertson, Nancy
Robinson, Michael
Rosati, Chris
Russell, David
Savath, Phil
Seary, Kim
Sera, Clare
Simpson, Denis
Snieckus, Naomi
Stamm, Raimund
Taylor, Stayci
Tortolano, Bruno
Totino, Tony
Rhodes, Laura
Roberts, Ken
Rohl, Mike
Rumph, Damian
Schooley, Mark
Selody, Kim
Side, Richard
Smith, Jason
Sood, Veena
Stiles, Ryan
Timoshyk, Bill
Totino, Frank
Turk, Ingrid
Ungaro, Janice
Van Deurse, Lynn
Van Riesen, Wendy
Watts, Chris
Weeks, Heidi Lynne
White, Gordon
Winkelman, Tallulah
Yorke, Wayne Thomas
Valleau, Lori
Van Keekan, Fran
Van Ritzen, Kirsten
Weatherly, Mark
Weiss, Kate
Williams, Denalda
Wodchis, David
Zeilinger, Beatrice

Check Out Our Past Shows!

Subscribe now